Image
Professor Norelee Kennedy, Vice President Research

Prof Norelee Kennedy, Vice President Research

Responsible for research affairs of the University, including research support services. Leadership in the formulation, development and delivery of the University’s research policy, strategy and support services.

Emailvpresearch@ul.ie  Tel: +353 61 202680, Ext: 2680  Room: F2-016 

 

Image
Margaret Fennessy

Margaret Fennessy, PA to the Vice President Research

Administrative support to the Office of Vice President Research. First point of contact between internal and external stakeholders and the office.  Deal with communication, organisational, administrative issues to assist the Vice President Research.

Emailmargaret.fennessy@ul.ie  Tel: +353 61 202686, Ext: 2686 Room: F2-016


Research Support Services

Image
Dr Puneet Saidha

Dr Puneet Saidha, Director of Research

Leads the Research Support Services team, and supports UL’s strategic research goals.

Emailpuneet.saidha@ul.ie  Tel: +353 61 234650, Ext: 4650 Room: F2-010 

Image
Sharone O'Loughlin

Sharone O'Loughlin

Support for Irish Research Council postdoctoral and principal investigator-led programmes (excluding Laureate), EU Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions (MSCA), EU COST and Royal Irish Academy. 

EmailSharone.oloughlin@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 202160  Room: F2-007 

Image
Dr Edel Kavanagh

Dr Edel Kavanagh

Support for Science Foundation Ireland funding programmes

E-maiEdel.Kavanagh@ul.ie  Tel: +353 61 234685  Room: F2-013

Image
Dr Mercedes Alonso

Dr Mercedes Alonso

Support for EU and International research funding programmes, as well as IRC Laureate. 

EmailMercedes.Alonso@ul.ie  Tel: +353 61 202279  Room: F2-013 

Image
Dr Imelda Doolan

Dr Imelda Doolan

Supports EU and International strategic research engagement. Support for EU and International research funding programmes, as well as IRC Laureate.

Emailimelda.doolan@ul.ie  Tel: +353 61 234996, Ext: 4996 Room: F2-017

Image
Eileen O'Connor

Eileen O'Connor

Monitoring and analysis of research performance, research reporting, Research Dashboard, Rankings Dashboard, submissions to rankings agencies, Research Office budget management. 

Emaileileen.f.oconnor@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 202739  Room: F2-009

Image
Sean Ryan

Sean Ryan

Compilation and analysis of research data, and the Research Dashboard. 

Emailsean.m.ryan@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 234115  Room: F2-021

Image
Pablo Najt

Pablo Najt

Support for research funding from Enterprise Ireland, Environmental Protection Agency, Sustainable Energy Authority Ireland, Department of Agriculture Food & the Marine and for research directly funded by industry.

Email: pablo.najt@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 233708 Room: F2-011 

Image
Sean Nolan

Sean Nolan

Support for EU and International research funding programmes, as well as IRC Laureate. 

Email: sean.p.nolan@ul.ie Tel: +353 61   Room: F2- 

Image
Paul O'Mahoney

Paul O'Mahoney

Health Research Institute (HRI) Research Support Officer. Support for Health Research Board and Wellcome Trust programmes, as well as funding for clinical and health research activities.

Email: paul.omahoney@ul.ie  Room: F2-012

Image
Vera Harnett

Vera Harnett

Administrator - Research Support Services. Provides administrative support to the Research Support Services team.

Emailvera.harnett@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 202 366 Room: F2-134


 

Research Post-Award Support & Compliance

Image
Dr Cathal Linnane

Dr Cathal Linnane

Head of Research Post-Award Support and Compliance, Responsible for the management of research post-award activities for the Office of the Vice President of Research.

EmailCathal.Linnane@ul.ie  Tel: +353 61 213309  Room: F2-023

Image
blank person image

Carol O'Sullivan

Health Research Reporting Officer. Post Award point of contact for Health Research at UL. Responsible for the implementation of the Health Research

E-mail: carol.osullivan@ul.ie Office: F2-020

Image
Niall Keely

Dr Niall Keely

Research office lead and point-of-contact for the operational aspects of UL’s research institutes and centres (both internal and externally-funded).

Email: niall.keely@ul.ie Room: F2-020

Image
Emer Rooney

Emer Rooney

Research Post Award Officer. Support for management of research post-award activities for all National programmes (excluding health research).

E-mail: emer.rooney@ul.ie Room: F2-019

 

Image
Irma Hourigan

Irma Hourigan

Research Post Award Officer. Support for management of research post-award activities for International programmes, and all Health Research related programmes.

E-mail: irma.hourigan@ul.ie Room: F2-019

Image
Helena O'Donnell

Helena O'Donnell

Senior Administrator Post Award. Provides administrative support and coordination for UL's post award function. Administrative point of contact for award acceptance, initiation and performance.

Email: helena.odonnell@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 234 204  Room: F2-135


Research Strategy & Policy

Image
Christine Brennan, Research strategy and policy manager

Christine Brennan

Research strategy and policy manager responsible for delivery of strategic planning, internal and external research policy development, with oversight of research governance and systems development. 

Emailchristine.brennan@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 234318 Room: F2-018

Image
Dr Barry Shanahan

Dr Barry Shanahan

Research Governance Officer, supporting the implementation of policies in the areas of research integrity, research ethics, and general research oversight.

Emailbarry.shanahan@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 234371  Room: F2-025 

Image
Richard Cotterell

Richard Cotterell

Research systems management, administration and development, responsible for UL Research Information System, research website management 

Emailrichard.cotterell@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 2343669 Room: F2-008

Image
Yvonne Kiely

Yvonne Kiely

Research Impact Officer, Open Science, Research Impact, Research Week 

Emailyvonne.kiely@ul.ie Tel: +353 61 234966 Room: F2-019

Image
Blank

Denis Tierney

Research Communications Officer providing external and internal communications support for the Office of the Vice President Research.

Emaildenis.f.tierney@ul.ie  Room: F2-008

Image

Lana Hannon

Senior Administrator, Research Strategy & Policy. Providing administrative support to the Research Strategy & Policy Team.

E-mail: lana.hannon@ul.ie Room: F2-134


 

Doctoral College

Image
Ann MacPhail

Prof Ann MacPhail, Associate Vice President Doctoral College

Responsible for the strategic leadership and management of the Doctoral College.

Email: AVPDC@ul.ie Room: F2-009

Image
Ger Downes

Dr Ger Downes, Postgraduate Research Development Manager

Promoting postdotoral research programmes, development of postgraduate researcher training

Email: gerard.downes@ul.ie  Room: F2-021

Image
Mike Frain

Michael Frain

Responsible for Postgraduate Research (PGR) Committee, PGR Academic Regulations and Irish Research Council Postgraduate Research Funding Calls. Drafting and editing policies, processes and procedures in relation to the Postgraduate Research Student Academic Journey.  

Email: michael.frain@ul.ie Room No: F2-021 (Foundation Building)

Image
Anne O'Dwyer

Anne O'Dwyer, Research Training Coordinator

Responsible for managing, developing, coordinating transferable skills workshops for postgraduate researchers

E-mail: anne.odwyer@ul.ie

Image
Marie Beaumont

Marie Beaumont, Research Thesis Submission Coordinator

Responsible for the Submission of Theses for the University Graduate Exam Boards for all PGR’s.  

E-mail: marie.beaumont@ul.ie